Alanis Morissette announces debut meditation album, “The Storm Before The Calm” to be released June 17th

Seven-time GRAMMY® Award-winning singer/songwriter Alanis Morissette announced her first meditation album, the storm before the calm, to be released on June 17th. On the upcoming album, Alanis will guide fans through 11 different meditations. The forthcoming album was co-written alongside Dave Harrington (Darkside). Alongside the announcement, Alanis released the first track from the album, “safety—empath in paradise” today.

Of today’s announcement and making the forthcoming album, Alanis shared, “Meditating rests my interior, to the point where I can have access to ideas and visions and inspirations—I can hear my own capital-S Self. Music, for me, is like a portal in a way, an invitation into a state of being that I’m not normally in. Making the record kept me super connected and accountable during COVID, when I felt like I was just going to disappear and float away.”

In conjunction with the wide release on traditional DSPs, the storm before the calm will also be released on the leading mental health app, Calm. The platform will host all eleven tracks for on-demand streaming. Fans can download Calm now for iPhone and Android and receive a seven-day free trial for first-time subscribers.

Alanis also recently announced additional dates for her North American dates for her world tour celebrating 25 years of JAGGED LITTLE PILL. The new dates follow Alanis’ sold out #1 female-fronted tour from 2021, which was also one of the Top Worldwide Tours of 2021 selling over 500,000 tickets. The new tour dates will kick off in Ottawa on July 10th and hit cities including Toronto and Vancouver before wrapping in Mountain View, CA on August 6th. On the North American portion of the tour, Alanis will be joined by special guest Garbage. On the European tour dates, Beth Orton will appear as a special guest. For tickets and more information, please visit

the storm before the calm Tracklisting:
1) light—the lightworker’s lament
2) heart—power of a soft heart
3) explore—the other side of stillness
4) space—pause on violence
5) purification—the alchemical crunch
6) restore—calling Generation X
7) awakening—in between thoughts
8) ground—I want to live.
9) safety—empath in paradise
10) mania—resting in the fire
11) vapor—amplified in stillness

Catch Alanis Morissette performs in Manila on November 18 & 19 at the Mall of Asia Arena. See more details here.

Leave a Reply